1. 航空航天业的增材制造
6 min read

航空航天业的增材制造

从原型到认证零件

近年来,现代增材制造在所能实现的方面已呈指数增长。不再仅仅是制造美观原型的方法,工程师们现在可以创造任何最能满足他们需要的形状,并且可以在他们需要的任何地方制造它们:海底、深空、危险地带或车间。

虽然增材制造对航空公司来说并不是什么新鲜事,但是有新的动力促使其从实验室走向工厂。通用航空正在全力以赴致力于 3D 打印的引擎。CFM 的 LEAP 发动机拥有 3D 打印的燃料喷嘴。4月,路透社报道波音公司将开始对其 787 梦幻客机的结构组件使用 3D 打印件。

增材制造可以加速创新工艺,消除对模具的需求,将生产中使用的原材料和能源减少 90%,并降低航空公司的燃料成本。那么航空航天公司如何才能在竞争中率先掌握增材制造呢?

增材制造的单一环境

3DEXPERIENCE 中的增材制造应用为设计师、制造专家和仿真分析人员提供了单一的统一环境,用于在生成型设计、构建规划、虚拟打印和后处理方面进行协作。观看演示学习。

增材制造的好处

致力于增材制造(AM)挑战的工程师必须解决这些问题:

  • 我们能否同时使结构重量减轻 50%,强度增加 50% 呢?
  • 我们能否打印高质量的备件?
  • 如果需要有特定的强度,我们每小时可以打印多少零件?
  • 我们能否实现耐久性?
  • 我们如何设计从单个零件到完全组装的增材制造?

增材制造允许工程师优化标准零件的成本和重量,并且无需制模就能快速而廉价地制作原型并生产复杂零件。与传统的铣削方法相比,增材制造可减少材料浪费。工程师们利用 3DEXPERIENCE 平台来设计和仿真高度优化的零件,基于空间分配、负载、约束、制造工艺和多种材料要求(聚合物、金属和工程材料),然后使用各种 3D 打印机来生产这些优化的零件。

增材制造实现了将多个零件或物料清单(BOM)组合成一个,从而通过减少组装、劳动力、库存和维护,以及潜在地减少认证文书工作而节省大量成本。增材制造还产生高度复杂的形状,使材料和重量减少 40% 至 90%。增材制造减少了 80% 到 90% 的废料,同时与机械加工或其它减法加工步骤有关。

增材制造 - 随时随地随意打印

增材制造并不像购买 3D 打印机和打印零件那么简单。从这个 45 分钟的网络研讨会了解您的公司如何引进增材制造。

无需数月,数天内即可优化零件

增材制造保证了先前未知的设计自由度和比传统制造工艺更大的灵活性。和其它制造工艺一样,公司必须了解增材制造的特殊性和应用领域才能进行有效使用。

到目前为止,每个部门都使用独立的模型,这些模型都专注于各自的任务:几何模型(CAD)、制造和装配模型,或者添加系统行为和物理建模的功能描述(仿真)模型。拥有独立的模型会导致工程师和仿真分析人员之间的一系列切换,有时需要几个星期才能解决。

生成型设计技术使设计人员能够使用统一的设计和仿真环境,利用新的直观工作流进行创新。非专业设计者可以根据功能规范自动生成概念部件。按下按钮运行仿真并生成优化的概念形状。然后根据先前所定义的规格对零件进行全面校核。即使不具专家经验也能轻松创建专业的结果。

许多设计师已经开始使用生成型设计,并取得了惊人的成果;“一家公司过去通常需要 3 个月的时间创建产品,现在他们只需要 2 天即可完成工作。另一组则节省了四倍的时间,重量减少了 20-30%。”

航空航天与国防行业的设计变革

工程设计师不断努力使零件重量最轻、刚度最大,同时降低成本和优化材料使用。从这篇白皮书了解工程师如何在新(生成型)设计变革中实现不受限制的设计工作。

1. Additive Manufacturing in Aerospace
6 min read

Additive Manufacturing in Aerospace

Moving from prototype to certified part

In recent years, modern Additive Manufacturing has grown exponentially in terms of what can be achieved. No longer just a method to produce nice-looking prototypes, now engineers can create any shape that best meets their need and can manufacture them almost anywhere they are needed: under the sea, in deep space, in crisis zones or on the shop floor.

While additive manufacturing is hardly new to aviation companies, there is a new push to get it from the laboratory to the factory floor. GE Aviation is working on entirely 3D printed engines. CFM’s LEAP engine has 3D printed fuel nozzles. In April, Reuters reported that Boeing would start using 3D printed parts for structural components of its 787 Dreamliner.

Additive manufacturing can accelerate the innovation process, eliminate the need for molds, reduce raw material and energy used in production by 90 percent and reduce fuel costs for airlines. So how can Aerospace companies embrace additive manufacturing ahead of their competition?

A Single Environment for Additive Manufacturing

Additive manufacturing applications in 3DEXPERIENCE provide a single unified environment for designers, manufacturing specialists and simulation analysts to collaborate on generative design, build planning, virtual printing and post-processing. Watch this demonstration to learn how.

The Benefits of Additive Manufacturing

Engineers focused on Additive Manufacturing (AM) challenges must solve these questions:

  • Can we make the structure 50% lighter and 50% stronger at the same time?
  • Can we print spare parts with in-service quality?
  • How many parts can we print per hour if they need to exhibit a specific strength?
  • Can we achieve durability?
  • How can we design AM to go from single parts to full assembly?

Additive Manufacturing allows engineers to optimize standard parts for cost and weight, prototype and produce complex parts quickly and cheaply without tooling. AM cuts material waste compared to traditional milling methods. Engineers leverage the 3DEXPERIENCE platform to design and simulate highly optimized parts based on space allocation, loads, constraints, manufacturing processes, and multi material requirements (polymers, metals, and engineered materials) and then use various 3D printers to produce these optimized parts.

Additive manufacturing makes it possible to combine multiple and numerous parts or Bill of Materials (BOMs) into one, resulting in big savings by reducing assembly, labor, inventory and maintenance, as well as potentially reducing certification paperwork. AM also produces a highly complex shape that reduces material and weight by 40% to 90%.  AM reduces between 80 and 90 percent of scrap while associated with machining or other subtractive manufacturing steps.

Additive Manufacturing – Print Anything, Anywhere, Any Way

Additive Manufacturing is not as simple as buying 3D Printers and printing parts. Learn how your company can embrace additive manufacturing in this 45-minute webinar.

Optimize Parts in Days, not Months

Additive Manufacturing promises previously unknown design freedom and much greater flexibility than traditional manufacturing processes. Like any other manufacturing process, to be used effectively, companies must understand additive manufacturing particularities and fields of application.

Until now, each department used separate models focused on their own task: geometry model (CAD), the model for manufacturing and assembly, or the function-describing (simulation) models adding system behavior and physics modeling. Having separate models leads to a series of handoffs between engineers and simulation analysts that could sometimes take weeks to resolve.

Generative Design technology empowers designers to innovate using a unified design and simulation environment with a new intuitive workflow. Non-specialist designers can automatically generate conceptual parts from a functional specification.  A push of the button runs a simulation and generates the optimized concept shape. The part can then be comprehensively validated in the context of the previously defined specification. It is easy for the non-expert to create expert results.

Many designers are already using Generative Design and achieving fantastic results; “A company was able to create a product in 2 days which normally took 3 months. Another achieved time savings by factor of 4 and found weight reduction in the order of 20 to 30%.”

The Design Revolution in Aerospace & Defense

Design engineers constantly strive to minimize part weight, maximize stiffness, reduce cost and optimize material usage. Learn how engineers can design without limits within the new (Generative) Design Revolution in this whitepaper.