10 min read

打破创新壁垒

21 世纪的新航空航天行业先驱

在 20 世纪 30 年代中期,工程师在设计世界第一架超音速飞机的时候面临许多挑战。为了达到超过音速的速度,他们发明了“音障”这个词组。“音障”同样用来体现制造一架能安全载人的超音速飞机的障碍。1947 年,随着在莫哈维沙漠上空音爆的巨大响声,查克·叶格上尉安全地克服了这些困难,打破了音障。

在航空史上的每一个节点,工程师与勇敢的飞行员和宇航员都找到打破地球重力的途径。孟戈菲兄弟在 1783 年制造了第一个热气球。莱特兄弟在 1903 年记录了第一次动力飞行。尤里·加加林在 1961 年完成了首次绕地球飞行。还有,尼尔·阿姆斯特朗 1969 年在月球上踏出的那第一步。这些航空航天领域的先驱引领世界进入了飞行的新领域。

如今,我们处在一个动力飞行和太空探索的新时代。凭借同样的勇气和新技术的优势,航空航天发明家继续扩大飞行的界限。像巴西航空工业公司和萨伯航空这类的区域性航空航天公司正通过他们的项目颠覆航空航天市场格局。Joby Aviation、Boom、Blue Origin 和 Space X 等初创公司正在推动新的可能性。现有参与企业也正通过加速创新与降低成本,重塑和振兴他们的业务。

在突破音障之前的一瞬间,驾驶舱震得最厉害。

美国空军查克·叶格准将 (退役)
第一位打破音障的飞行员

一个即将开始成长的产业

伴随着竞争日益激烈,对使飞行变得更安全、更简单并且更可持续性的新技术的需求日益增长,航空航天与国防(A&D)行业持续转型,在其源远流长的历史与文化基础上寻求创新。

全球安全危机带动了国防预算激增,尤其是美国、欧洲、中国、俄罗斯、韩国与日本。经过多年的停滞,全球不稳定性正在推动国防预算的增长。从 2017 年起,全球国防预算在持续增加。在 2017 年,全球支出高达 1.682 万亿美元,这个数字预计在 2022 年会增加到 2.023 万亿美元。国防承包商必须尽快利用新技术去现代化国防能力,以应对这些潜在的危机。

他们也需要一些能满足目前商用市场的需求及成长潜力的新方式。预期客运量在未来 20 年会翻倍,结合商用飞机预计 13,500 架的订单积压,商用飞机制造商了解到成功在于提高产率。订单积压从 2009 年的将近 5 年增加到 2018 年的近乎 10 年。运营商无法继续再等 10 年才满足顾客需求。

从巴西、印度、中国,也包括复苏的俄罗斯来的新兴参与企业在商用市场与国防市场中找到了机遇。过去,发展中国家的制造商帮助像波音和空中客车这样的大型飞机 OEM 厂商节省成本并缩短上市时间。这些公司为满足新兴的需求建立自己的项目,通过提供更诱人的价格优势(便宜约 20% 到 25%)延长缺货订单,这些都展示出一种威胁。这些新 OEM 厂商凭借努力满足本地市场的需求,持续提升对传统 OEM 厂商的竞争力。

太空市场在过去十年曾经是昂贵且困难的业务,随着 Blue Horizon、Space X 和许多其他公司的出现,这一局势已被扭转。这些初创公司很快起步,参与到人类火星任务、月球商业旅行及其它更有野心的太空竞赛中。新的初创公司通过 3D 打印、重用火箭等新工程技术,极大地改变了过去的所有惯例。如果传统的太空公司不及时创新或进行重塑,他们很可能面临被超越的威胁。

通过在协作、工程设计及制造方面的技术进步,之前的界限发生了转变,以前无法想象的已成为可能了。渐渐显露头角的是开拓类公司,包括传统公司和初创公司,他们重塑公司的视野、工作方式以及他们提供的服务和产品。

掌控航空航天业格局

行业资深人士和前航空周刊主编 Anthony Velcocci 描述了他对航空航天与国防行业的全面看法。了解更多关于航空航天与国防行业的关键挑战、技术和趋势。

打破协作壁垒

很多今天的项目管理技巧和协作方法都是在 20 世纪 50 和 60 年代发明的。其中有杜邦发明的关键路径方法(CPM)、洛克希德·马丁和海军部发明的项目评审技术(PERT)、以及成功帮助 NASA 完成人类登月的瀑布流技术。工作分解结构的发明为 20 世纪中叶的组织结构、工具和流程带来变革性的变化,这仍然是当今的主流。

虽然这些技术在上世纪取得巨大成功,但是如今它们似乎正桎梏着公司进一步发展。工作流程和组织架构仍就遵循着这种十分序列化的流程,这导致了在设计办公室、项目办公室、当然还有制造环境之间的多重循环。

公司在跨时区、语言和组织范围内,必须比以往任何时候都更加以协作,从而为市场提供新的创新。公司采用更协作型的工作模式,取代职能、组织或地理方面的孤岛式运作,这需要一个综合平台将整个项目团结为一体,包括项目管理、工程设计、测试、制造和运营。超越产品数据管理(PDM)或是产品生命周期管理(PLM),成为一个跨企业的创新平台,从概念到交付,所有职能部门可以近乎实时协作建立项目。

无缝数字化协作延展到全球团队,从定义项目初级要求,到开发系统工程架构和系统 DMU、优化设计、设计制造工艺、以及使用虚拟测试与物理测试完成认证。在一个平台上的无缝数字化协作可以从概念到交付加快新项目速度,同时削减开发成本。

确保有个创新的环境

产品生命周期管理已经不足以管理日益增长的复杂航空航天项目。了解公司为什么需要通过在一个产品创新平台中执行项目的各个方面来加速创新。

打破技术壁垒

新技术大大降低了加速创新的门槛。它也降低了企业参与竞争所需的资金成本。像虚拟现实、增材制造和机器人这样的技术,帮助人们在消耗成本或延迟实际工装需求之前,以前所未有的速度完成零件与子系统的设计与原型制造。

  • 虚拟与增强现实。团队可以使用 3D 的方式,从系统级别的任务仿真到特定的多物理仿真,例如雷击对航空电子设备和结构的影响、噪音产生等等,探索新的设计。这可以保证在实际建造物理系统之前,新系统可以满足关键需求,从而消除了下游的潜在问题。
  • 生成型设计与增材制造。工程师可以使用生成型设计工程工具、仿真与 3D 打印机优化标准零件以满足成本与重量要求,还可以优化原型设计,而无需模具就能用更低的价格生产复杂的零件。如今,公司可以创建及打印定制的零件,降低至少 70% 的成本和重量,同时也降低了总体零件的数量、模具费用及材料浪费。
  • 机器人。如今,机器人技术的新发展可能会带来灵活及可扩展的制造能力。像多机器人先进制造(MRAM)这样的功能可以用多种材料建造高度定制的零件,减少零件数量,带来比传统的制造方式更高的质量,并且降低高达 90% 的材料浪费。
  • 逆向工程与检验。新的 3D 扫描技术可以采用已有的物理零件创建虚拟模型。这种技术可以生成计算机辅助设计(CAD)模型,用于详细设计、仿真分析、原型设计、模型测试、模型失效分析以及质量保证。各团队还可以数字化检验工装,采购并制造零件/系统,从而确保其符合规范。

可以采用这些新技术允许像 Joby Aviation 和 BRM Aerospace 这样的公司不必通过巨大的投资,就能进入并参与轻型飞机竞争市场与电动垂直起降(EVTOL)飞机市场。俄罗斯的苏霍伊、巴西的巴西航空工业公司和中国商飞等新兴企业,可以通过充分利用新的工程能力,在未来的日子与波音和空中客车等公司正面交锋,来转变其发展进程。

航空航天业增材制造的影响
生成型设计工程工具与增材制造相结合,可以显著地加快零件优化与生产。了解航空航天公司如何利用这些新技术在创新方面创造新的突破。

打破性能壁垒

航空公司与承包机构需要以更低的成本获得更高的性能。OEM 厂商与供应商应当如何优化这种权衡,用合适的价格,提供足够好的性能以满足客户的需求?通过建立一个实用的系统数字样机并使用协同仿真,在千余种设计(系统权衡分析)中选择最符合客户需求的设计,这种设计是有可能既满足 X(成本、要求、性能),又可以打破已有的性能壁垒。

在项目层面,一个包括模型基础系统工程的基于模型的企业(MBE)方式为公司打造一个探索最佳配置的基础,并以此满足并交付客户需求。MBE 在部门与系统之间统一了项目流程、方法和数据,因此项目领导人可以观察并了解到短期内的项目决策对业务和客户要求产生的影响。

把企业业务视图移到工程/系统视图,基于模型的系统工程(MBSE)可以利用一个实用的系统数字样机(S-DMU)去复制已有的实物资产、流程及系统。这种“数字线程”将所有的零件、子系统设计和系统设计组合单一的虚拟模型。各地区间或各供应商公司间的团队可以协作评估系统如何运作以及为整体系统性能创建模型。

除 MBE 和 MBSE 之外,协同仿真也可以通过自动权衡分析优化设计选择,以发现最符合客户要求的设计。在过去,航空航天公司会定义两到三种设计方法,然后工作很长一段时间才制成实物。现在,公司可以利用仿真,评估几千种概念,并在几周而不是几个月之内找到最适合整体要求的配置,同时避免潜在的错误。

航空航天公司凭借一个综合产品创新平台,可以在项目开发的同时,对其进行虚拟测试与验证。测试占了项目成本和时间的 25%,而几乎四分之一的测试都是在计划外发生的。虚拟测试可以取代今天大部分的物理测试,从而降低设计验证的成本与时间。更早期、更完善的测试可以消除这些计划外的成本和延迟,同时发现那些有可能造成重大项目延迟、成本超支和业务影响的缺陷和故障。3DEXPERIENCE 平台捕捉测试计划和结果,以便在整个开发过程中提供可视度和追溯性。这有助于削减成本、提高质量以及满足航空公司和承包机构所要求的创新。

空中客车加速创新

空中客车试图在破纪录的时间内简化一个主要子系统的设计,并提升其效率。了解空中客车如何成功地在 84 天内完成了一个原本要用 18 到 24 个月完成的开发项目。

1. Breaking the Barriers to Innovation
10 min read

Breaking the Barriers to Innovation

The New Aerospace Pioneers of the 21st Century

In the mid-1930’s engineers faced many challenges in designing the world’s first supersonic aircraft.  The term “sound barrier” was coined as they sought to reach a speed faster than the speed of sound.  “Sound barrier” also represented the hurdle to prove a plane could be built to safely carry a pilot and crew flying supersonic.  In 1947, with the sharp crack of a sonic boom over the Mohave Dessert, Captain Chuck Yeager safely overcame those hurdles and broke the sound barrier.

At each milestone in aviation history, engineers and daring aviators and astronauts have found ways to break the bounds of earth’s gravity. The Montegolfier Brothers developed the first balloons in 1783. The Wright Brothers recorded the first powered flight in 1903. Yuri Gagarian achieved first orbit in 1961. And, Neil Armstrong took the first step on the moon in 1969. These first pioneers of aerospace boldly led the world into new frontiers of flight.

Today, we are part of a new century of powered flight and space exploration.  With the same daring and the advantages of new technologies, aerospace inventors push the boundaries of flight. Regional aerospace companies like Embraer and Saab Aerospace are disrupting the aerospace market with their own programs. Start-ups like Joby Aviation, Boom, Blue Origin and Space X push the envelope of what is possible. Established players also reinvent and reinvigorate their businesses by accelerating innovation and driving down costs.

Just before you break through the sound barrier, the cockpit shakes the most.

An Industry Poised for Growth

With increased competition and demand for new technology to make the world safer and easier to travel in a sustainable way, the Aerospace and Defense (A&D) industry continually reshapes itself, building on its long history and culture of innovation.

Security concerns across the globe have fueled increased levels of defense spending, especially in the United States, Europe, China, Russia, Korea and Japan. Global instability is driving growth in defense budgets after years of stagnation.  Starting in 2017, global defense spending is rising.  Global expenditures were $1.682 trillion in 2017 and projected to grow to $2.023 trillion by 2022. Defense contractors must leverage new technologies to modernize national defense capabilities quickly to meet these new potential threats.

New approaches are needed to meet current demand and the growth potential in the commercial market. Passenger traffic expected to double over the next 20 years, coupled with a roughly 13,500 commercial aircraft backlog means commercial manufacturers know success lies in ramp-up production rates. The backlog has grown from just under 5 years in 2009 to just under 10 years in 2018. Operators can’t continue to wait a decade to support passenger demand.

Emerging players from Brazil, India, and China, as well as a resurgent Russia, see opportunity in the commercial and defense markets.  Previously, manufacturers in developing countries helped major aircraft OEMs like Boeing and Airbus cut costs and reduce time-to-market. These same companies now pose a threat by building their own programs to go after the surging demand and lengthening backorders by offering compelling cost advantages (roughly 20 to 25 percent lower).  These new OEMs will increase the competitive pressures on legacy OEMs as they seek to meet the demand in their local markets.

Once a costly and difficult business to penetrate, the space market has been turned on its head over the past 10 years with the emergence of start-ups like Blue Horizon, Space X and many others.  Start-ups have jump-started a new space race for human missions to Mars and commercial passenger trips to the Moon and likely more ambitious goals. New start-ups embrace enabling new technologies like 3D printing and engineer reusable rocketry will dramatically change all previous conventions. This threatens to overthrow traditional space companies if they don’t innovate and reinvent themselves.

With the rise of technological advancements in collaboration, engineering, and manufacturing the previous boundaries have shifted and made the unthinkable, possible.  Those rising to the top are the pioneering companies – traditional and start-up -- reinventing their vision, the way they work, and the services and products they deliver and make.

Navigating the Landscape of Aerospace

Industry veteran and former Aviation Week Editor in Chief, Anthony Velocci, provides a comprehensive view of the aerospace & defense industry.  Learn about the key challenges, technologies and trends shaping the Aerospace and Defense industry.

Breaking the Collaboration Barrier

Many of today’s program management techniques and collaboration methods were invented in the 1950s and 1960s. That was the advent of the Critical Path Method (CPM) by DuPont, program evaluation and review technique (PERT) by Lockheed Martin and the Department of the Navy, and waterfall techniques perfected by NASA to help man get to the moon. The invention of the work breakdown structure revolutionized the organizational structure, tools and processes of the mid-20th century and it’s still predominately used today.

While these techniques were quite successful last century, they may be holding companies back today. Work processes and organizations structures still follow this very sequential process, resulting in multiple loops between the design office, the program office and of course, the manufacturing environment.

More than ever, companies must work more collaboratively across time zones, languages, and organizations to deliver new innovations to market. As companies evolve to work more collaboratively instead of operating in functional, organizational or geographic silos, an integrated platform is required to bring together an entire program - including program management, engineering, testing, manufacturing and operations. By moving beyond Product Data Management (PDM) or Product Lifecycle Management (PLM) systems --  to an enterprise-wide innovation platform --  all functions can collaborate in near real-time to build a program from concept to take-off. 

Seamless digital collaboration extends to teams around the globe, from defining the initial program requirements, to developing the systems engineering architecture and system DMU, optimizing designs, designing the manufacturing process and using both virtual and physical testing to complete certification. Seamless digital collaboration on one platform enables rapid acceleration of new programs from concept to takeoff while significantly cutting development costs.

Ensuring an Environment for Innovation

Product Lifecycle Management is no longer enough to manage increasingly complex aerospace programs. Learn why companies should perform every aspect of the program on a product innovation platform to accelerate innovation.

Breaking the Technology Barrier

New technologies significantly lower the barriers to accelerating innovation. They also lowering the cost of capital needed to be a competitive player. Technologies like virtual reality, additive manufacturing, and robotics make it possible to design and prototype parts and subsystems much faster than ever before without the expense or delay physical tools require.

  • Virtual and Augmented Reality. Teams can now explore new designs in 3D from system-level mission simulation to specific multi-physic simulations like lightning strikes impact on avionics and structures, noise generation, and many others. This helps ensure new systems can meet key requirements before ever creating a physical system, eliminating potential issues downstream.  
  • Generative Design and Additive Manufacturing.  Generative Design Engineering tools, simulation and 3D printers allow engineers to optimize standard parts for cost and weight, prototype and produce complex parts quickly and cheaply without tooling.  Now, companies can create and print bespoke parts that reduce cost and weight 70% and more – as well as reduce the overall number of parts, tooling costs, and material waste.  
  • Robotics. New advances in robotics may now provide a flexible and scalable manufacturing capability.  Capabilities like Multi-Robotic Advanced Manufacturing (MRAM) can build highly customized parts and systems with multiple materials, lower the number of parts, improve quality versus traditional production methods and reduce material waste up to 90 percent.  
  • Reverse Engineering & Inspection.  New 3D scanning technologies can create virtual models from existing physical parts. This can generate computer-aided design (CAD) models for detailed design, simulation analysis, prototyping, model testing, model failure analysis, and quality assurance. Teams can also digitally inspect tooling as well as purchased and manufactured parts/systems to ensure they comply with their specifications.

Having access to these new technologies allows companies like Joby Aviation and BRM Aerospace to enter and compete in the light aircraft and Electric Vertical Take-off and Landing (EVTOL) markets without massive capital investment. Emerging players like Sukhoi in Russia, Embraer in Brazil and COMAC in China can transform their development processes by leveraging new engineering capabilities to compete head-to-head with Boeing and Airbus in the upcoming years.

The Impact of Additive Manufacturing in Aerospace
Generative Design Engineering tools combined with Additive Manufacturing can significantly accelerate part optimization and production. Learn how Aerospace companies are leveraging these new technologies to create new breakthroughs in innovation.

Breaking the Performance Barrier

Airlines and contracting agencies demand greater performance at lower costs.  How can OEMs and suppliers optimize trade-offs to deliver the right capabilities at the right price to meet their customers’ demands?  It’s possible to design for X (cost, requirements, performance) and break existing performance barriers, by creating a functional system digital mock-up and using co-simulation to explore 1000’s more design options (system trade studies) to best meet their customer needs.

At the program level, a model based enterprise (MBE) approach including model base systems engineering creates the foundation for companies to explore the best configurations to meet customer requirements and deliver. An MBE unifies program processes, methods and data across departments and systems so program leaders can see and understand how decisions will impact business and customer requirements in near real-time.

Moving the enterprise business view to the engineering/systems view, a model-based system engineering (MBSE) leverages a functional system digital mock-up (S-DMU) to replicate the physical asset, processes and systems. This “digital thread” assembles all of the parts, sub-systems and system designs into a single virtual model.  Teams working across locations and in the case of suppliers different companies can collaborate to assess how well systems work together and model overall system performance.

In addition to MBE and MBSE, co-simulation can help optimize design choices through automated trade studies to find the best fit the overall requirements defined by the customer.  In the past, Aerospace companies would define two or three design approaches and then work for long periods to bring them to life. Now companies can leverage simulation to assess thousands of concepts and find the configurations that best meet the entire list of requirements in weeks vs. months while avoiding potential issues.

Having an integrated product innovation platform allows aerospace companies to virtually test and verify new programs as they are developed.  Testing represents 25 percent of a program's cost and time, yet almost a quarter of tests are unplanned. Virtual testing can replace much of the physical testing done today, cutting both cost and time to validate designs. Earlier and improved testing eliminates these unplanned costs and delays while identifying potential flaws or failures which could incur significant program delays, cost overruns and business impact. The 3DEXPERIENCE platform captures testing plans and results to provide through visibility and traceability throughout the development process. This helps provide insights to help drive costs out, improve quality and deliver the innovation airlines and contracting agencies demand.

Accelerating Innovation with Airbus

Airbus sought to simplify the design of a major subsystem and improve its efficiency in record time.  Learn how Airbus successfully completed an 18 to 24 month development project in only 84 days.

Breaking the Manufacturing Barrier

Manufacturing ramp-up presents a significant barrier to delivering new innovations to market profitably. How important is it for companies to understand the impact of design decisions on production? 

Consider the value of having design engineers focus on simplification, materials development, and the mechanisms and performance of the new system while manufacturing engineers work concurrently on improving manufacturability and manufacturing rates.  If manufacturing engineers, design engineers and suppliers work together to adapt the form, fit, function, materials and hardware of the designs, produce tooling with 3D printing, and build interactive 3D work instructions , it will accelerate manufacturing ramp-up.  An added advantage is the ability to replicate manufacturing globally with the potential for lower costs and shorter ramp-up times. 

Companies like  Latécoère  use the 3DEXPERIENCE platform to model their factory virtually to simulate how new innovations will be produced and foresee potential issues before they occur. This virtual model helps manufacturing teams determine how to best orchestrate and balance production flow before product starts.

Meet a Few of the New Pioneers of Aerospace

From early concepts of Unmanned Aerial Systems to full aircraft programs, these pioneers leveraged the 3DEXPERIENCE platform to create new experiences for their customers. Learn how they broke the barriers to new innovations.

The Power of the 3DEXPERIENCE Platform

The 3DEXPERIENCE platform allows all functions in an aerospace & defense company to work together simultaneously on a single collaborative platform to bring innovations to life. This new system of work helps companies to:

  • Increase win rates through by exploring and validating 1,000s of concepts to optimize the product or deliver a winning proposal.
  • Accelerate maturity from concept to manufacturing while driving 40-60% of cost out
  • Expand virtual testing across the lifecycle to reduce the physical testing to certify the new aerospace system.
  • Ensure manufacturing can deliver on target the first time every time from ramp-up to rate adjustments for ongoing production.
Explore Production Ready Innovation

Explore the technologies and capabilities needed to drive production ready innovation for your company.  Learn from the new aerospace breaking barriers to reach new frontiers.

Explore Our Industry Solution Experiences

Learn more about how our Industry Solution Experiences can help you accelerate your production ready innovation.