1. 什么是不容妥协的时代?
8 min read

什么是不容妥协的时代?

达到您的质量、成本和时间目标

压力从各方面扑面而来。航空航天与国防行业面临着太空扩大、大量积压的商业订单和国防支出提升等问题。原始设备制造商和大型供应商要求它们的供应商提高效率。这些为新金砖四国(巴西、俄罗斯、印度和中国)带来了新的制造竞争力——通过最新的技术创新实现敏捷性——新金砖四国正蓄势待发,将要取代那些无法实现预期交付的公司。

简而言之,为了行业蓬勃发展,必须要在比以往更短的时间内,用更低的成本,交付更先进的飞机、国防系统和太空飞行器。

但是,根据 Lifecycle Insights 的文章,‘Improve program execution with integrated simulation'(通过集成仿真提升程序执行),产品生命周期管理(PLM)分析研究显示只有 18% 的航空航天与国防项目在没有颠覆性的资源转移的情况下完成了按时交付。研究显示,原型测试失败数量增多,降低了项目按时启动的可能性。结论是:在项目周期的早期阶段迫切需要“更好地了解产品和系统的性能”。

那么,公司如何在不将就质量和要求的情况下改进项目执行和首次特性?答案可以在企业数字化“改造”中找到,即结合众多专业学科,将想法转化为 3D 模型。这个模型可以在虚拟环境中进行模拟,测试,改进和体验。数字化改造有潜力做到平衡质量、成本和时间三个关键部分。

模拟应用于整个生命周期

Lifecycle Insights 的文章提出了一个最佳组合:“专家集合和模拟技术的正确组合可以带来显著的改进……在概念设计中,这些工具可帮助定义可行的性能界限。在合同竞标中,消息更灵通的团队能够进行更准确的投标,因此使得利润获得保障。在详细设计中,他们为工程师每日的决策提供指导,因此设计在首次原型设计和测试中就更易通过。甚至在原型设计和测试中,模拟允许团队可以了解到二级和三级故障模式……模拟智能系统提供了针对于不同的项目配置绘制的所有种类分析结果的见解。模拟数据管理跟踪所有内容,管理文件和配置。

这种全面的模拟方法——识别其在实验和验证方面的巨大价值——并应用于完整的项目生命周期,是前瞻性思维的公司前进的方向。

提前预测可能发生的问题

只有 18% 的航空航天与国防项目在没有颠覆性资源转移的情况下完成了按时交付。了解模拟如何帮助公司为改进项目执行找到具成本效益的创新方法。

利用协作的力量

模拟不是唯一极能促成企业数字化改造的数字化应用。平台驱动的数字化协作应用程序让企业的所有团队或他们的延伸企业能够优化设计、简化流程、监控成本。

见证一个成功案例空中客车 A350 XWB 项目

空中客车的项目因为每个场地都拥有各自的数字化样机并独立工作而面对重复和缺乏可视度等问题。缺乏沟通会延长设计周期并产生错误,导致成本的增加。

空中客车一旦将其开发平台置入单一的达索系统 ENOVIA 应用程序,其员工和延伸企业便可以实时使用所有相关的数据和信息,因此减少工程变更请求,维持 A350 XWB 项目正常运行。

除了 ENOVIA,空中客车还在设计、模拟和制造等方面选用达索系统 3DEXPERIENCE® 平台的多项应用程序。空中客车的 A350 XWB 项目能如期完成首飞,客户认为作为核心促成因素的 3DEXPERIENCE® 平台功不可没。

“我们面临很多挑战,包括十分激进的开发计划和加速生产的需求,以满足我们的交付承诺,”执行副总裁兼 A350 XWB 项目领导人,Evrard 解释道。

“有了 3DEXPERIENCE®,我们的设计质量和效率便有了显著的提升……我们采用 CATIA 以 3D 完成所有设计,包括飞机的结构、安装系统、管路、复合零件、电气系统等,”Evrard 补充到。

“凭借 SIMULIA,我们从近似的线性分析方法转化为更准确的非线性分析,让我们更深入地了解到在特定条件下结构有何性能。”

“由于项目的复杂性和众多的外包利益相关者,使 A350 XWB 呈现许多技术性的和组织结构上的挑战。但是,由于采用达索系统的解决方案,我们在流程、方法和工具中实现了协调,所有节省下的时间都反过来用在创新上。

确保空中客车 A350 XWB 项目按目标完成

作为“空中客车未来” 项目的一部分,空中客车一直致力于通过 A350 XWB 创造出 “全新的飞行体验”。了解空中客车是如何在确保内部和外部利益相关者的质量和一致性的同时,整合新的技术进步,达到具挑战性的生产提升目标。

我们对流程、方法和工具进行了协调,将节约下的宝贵时间用在创新上。

Didier Evrad
空客执行副总载兼 A350 XWB 项目负责人

整合的系统将促成性能的提高

当系统无法一起工作时您会怎么办?MBDA ,一家全球翘楚的复杂导弹系统制造业,在面对因为拥有单机版的企业资源规划(ERP)、制造执行系统(MES)和 PLM 时所面临的问题。这个已不适用于继续支持,与现用的操作系统亦不兼容。更糟糕的是,有些 MBDA 场地仍在使用纸质的跟踪系统。

一个整合的解决方案势在必行:“我们一旦完成对 Apriso 的 FlexNet 的评估和了解,便意识到我们可以通过整合我们的企业规划、工程和制造运营系统,为我们带来显著的性能提升和成本节约,”项目经理 Jérémie Ropero 说。“Apriso 的解决方案可以处理我们所需的各种产品和控制类型,同时为跟踪和追溯生产和流程变更提供了坚实的基础。”

现在,MBDA “在工艺设计和车间之间有超高的反应能力,使我们更加灵活” Ropero 说。“让我们更能对技术创新做出响应,对于我们这种迅速变化的行业,这种高度灵活的响应力至关重。”

公司的生产和质量运作完全可以追溯,同时操作员也更赋技能。跨部门的路由定义过程得到协调(路由维护时间已减少 50%),新的信息系统已经与现有的应用程序实现互联。

现在,为了工程设计、生产和质量操作流程的完整追溯性,所有活动都会妥当跟踪和记录。为了达到合规性和质量提升,拥有所有操作数据的详细记录是极其重要的。我们可以简易地比较完工零件与设计零件,不断寻求进步。

Jeremie Ropero
MBDA 项目经理

寻找有效的分析法

如果您想加快产品上市时间,您就必须加快流程并减少重复。这就是总部设在美国的 Bird Technologies 在采用达索系统的 EXALEAD OnePart 应用程序时所设想的,加快其工程师寻找类似零件的速度,并减少数据库中重复零件的数量。

客户们看重我们产品的可靠性,但同时也想在质量方面获得高性价比,” Bird 的机械工程经理 John Winter 解释说。“我们庞大的产品组合意味着我们要处理很多 3D 模型,如果能在新设计中实现模型重用,我们可以大大降低成本和市场交付时间。但是,我们之前使用的文件定位工具是个缓慢且低效的非索引式搜索工具。与其等待工具缓慢地从全部数据中搜索信息,我们的工程师情愿从零点开始,重新设计零部件。”

选择重新设计零部件导致 Bird 公司累积一个满是重复零件的庞大数据库。“我们有超过 3,000 项重复的零件,需要找到一个降低这个数量的方法,”Winter 说道。“答案就是重新利用现有的设计。”

EXALEAD OnePart 根据文件属性、元数据和几何相似性在设计数据库中搜索,让 Bird 的工程师可以快速地找到相似的零件。

“我们已经减少 75% 的重复零件,随着工程师更熟知这款应用程序,我们相信这个百分比还会提升,”Winter 兴奋地说。“从前,我们的工程师,尤其是新来的同事,都会问比较有经验的同事,去哪里找某个零件。现在,设计师们无需依靠任何人,他们用 OnePart 搜索自己需要的零件。”

Bird 的工程师也会用 OnePart 处理 3D CAD 文档和所有其它设计文档,比如数据表格、测试数据、制造说明、测试步骤和图纸。事实上,他们所有的搜索流程都已完全好转。“信息搜索之前每次搜索平均要四分钟,现在只要几秒钟,”Winter 补充道。

打破信息孤岛

在为设计、制造和测试提供服务的企业管理和支持系统日益进步的时候,公司如何及时看到关键数据,从而及时做出决定?了解如何通过详细、及时更新和自定义的仪表板,快速高效地访问来自多个系统的数据。

了解数字化转型的价值

成功的数字化转型与您组织工作方式的转变息息相关。企业应当尝试打破传统孤岛,在各个职能部门、语言和地理位置之间,采用新的方式进行无缝协作。“返工”应当属于过去。

由 Jonathan Kletazel 和 Bryan Terry 联合撰写的 PwC 文章《2017 年商业航空趋势》中指出,为应付明显增多的客运量,公司的数字化转型“需要有紧迫感”。毋庸置疑,作者们也接受了“从像 AI 或是 IoT 等流行语转变到实际应用是一件很困难的事”这一事实。与其沉迷于科技趋势的“闪光物体”,Kletzel 和 Terry 选择督促企业进行更实际的思考,尤其是思考数字化技术能为商业方面带来的效益;它能为增加收入并同时降低运营成本提供怎样的机遇”。

例如,航空公司需要用数字化去“促进和优化运营——降低成本,同时改善服务。他们需要将科技运用到预测并预防设备故障,优化流程和实地生产力,以及为员工提供更好更及时的信息。”

作者认为,管理树状图顶部的那些人需要以正​​确的态度看待数字化。数字化应当用作“战略创新的工具”,而不是“灵丹妙药”或是虚拟的创可贴。

“公司的商业策略——短期目标和长期目标——将为您指导您最想获取的客户群体,提供吸引这些客户的产品,以及可以接触到他们的正确渠道。这些目标变得明确时,您便可以识别出支持这些目标的最佳科技。”

满足期望——而后超越期望

通过产品生命周期的数字化转型——概念、开发、到制造——航空航天与国防制造商与供应商可以自信地建造日益复杂的飞机,满足乘客的需求和运营商的成本和时间目标。

如今,大家可以在完整系统数字模型的环境中并行工作,该模型可以提供统一真实版本。通过协作——大家从不同地点参与实时合作——您可以在设计、验证、制造、测试、认证和其它对新飞机项目的持续支持等各方面带来显著改进现状的新效率。同时,项目经理可以在整个供应链中连续监控进度、预算、资源分配和交付成果。

这是为了真正的卓越运营——加速复杂项目开发,提高生产力,通过流程自动化优化零部件和系统,并且维持对项目的完全控制。您可以保证满足合同期限,满足甚至减少成本,最重要的是,您的客户会一直得到他们所期望的质量。

缩减成本,同时提高质量

航空航天公司现在可以提高设计效率,提升产品质量,缩减成本,同时大幅缩短产品上市时间。了解 COMAC、BRM Aero、Bell Helicopter 如何实现卓越运营,同时又让客户满意。

1. What is the no compromise era?
8 min read

What is the no compromise era?

Meeting your quality, cost and time targets

The pressure is on and it’s coming from every angle. The Aerospace & Defense industry faces growth in space, a huge backlog of commercial orders and increased spending in defense. Original Equipment Manufacturers and large suppliers demand greater efficiency from their suppliers. New competition in the form of manufacturers in emerging BRIC (Brazil, Russia, India and China) economies – made more agile by the latest technological innovations – wait hungrily in the wings, ready to replace those who fail to deliver.

In short, to thrive the industry must deliver more advanced aircraft, defense systems and space vehicles, in less time and at lower cost than ever before.

And yet, according to the paper, ‘Improve program execution with integrated simulation' by Lifecycle Insights, a Product Lifecycle Management (PLM) analyst study states that only 18% of all Aerospace & Defense programs and projects are delivered on time without disruptive shifts in resources. The study shows that increased failures during prototype testing result in a decreased likelihood of launching programs on time. The conclusion: better insight into product and systems performance is “desperately needed earlier in the program cycle”.

So, how do companies improve program execution and first-time quality without compromising on quality and requirements?  The answer is found in an enterprise digital 'makeover' that unites the many specialized disciplines needed to convert an idea into a 3D model. This model can be simulated, tested, refined and experienced, all in a virtual environment. Having a digital makeover provides the potential to balance all three critical legs of the quality, cost and time ‘stool’. 

View Infographic
Enterprise Digital Makeover > Simulate Across the Entire Program Lifecycle > Dassault Systèmes®
View Infographic
Enterprise Digital Makeover > Simulate Across the Entire Program Lifecycle > Dassault Systèmes®
Improve Program Execution with Simulation

Applying simulation throughout the lifecycle

The Lifecycle Insights paper proposes an optimal combination: “The right mix of specialist and integrated simulation technologies can make a powerful difference… In concept design, these tools help define feasible bounds of performance. In contract bidding, they enable better-informed teams to bid more accurately, thus protecting profits. In detailed design, they provide engineers guidance on daily decisions, so that designs are more likely to pass prototyping and testing the first time. Even in prototyping and testing, simulation allows teams to understand secondary and tertiary failure modes… Simulation Intelligence systems provide insight across all types of analysis results plotted against different item configurations. Simulation data management tracks it all, managing files and configurations.”

This holistic approach to simulation – recognizing its huge value in verification and validation – and applying it throughout the entire lifecycle of the program, is where forward-thinking companies are heading.

Predict Issues Before They Occur

Only 18% of all Aerospace and Defense programs and projects are delivered on time without disruptive shifts in resources. Learn how simulation can help companies find innovative and cost-effective ways to improve program execution.

Harnessing the power of collaboration

Simulation isn’t the only digital application offering major potential for an enterprise digital makeover. Platform-driven digital collaboration applications make it possible for teams across an enterprise or their extended enterprise to optimize designs and streamline processes while keeping a firm eye on costs.

Witness the success story of the Airbus A350 XWB program.

Airbus programs suffered from duplication and lack of visibility because each location maintained its own digital mock-up and worked separately. This lack of communication extended design time and introduced errors that drove up costs.

Once Airbus put its development platforms under the single Dassault Systèmes ENOVIA application, its employees and extended enterprise accessed all relevant data and information in real-time, thereby reducing engineering change orders and keeping the A350 XWB program on course.

In addition to ENOVIA, Airbus uses a range of Dassault Systèmes’ apps for design, simulation and manufacturing on the 3DEXPERIENCE® platform. The platform became the core enabler for the A350 XWB program credited by the company for meeting the maiden flight date.

“We had many challenges including a very aggressive development schedule and the need to ramp up production quickly to satisfy our delivery commitments,” explained Didier Evrard, Executive VP and Head of the A350 XWB Program.

“With 3DEXPERIENCE ®, our design quality and efficiency have considerably improved… We used CATIA to design the aircraft’s structure, the installation systems, the tubing, the composites parts, and the electrical systems completely in 3D,” added Evrard.

“With SIMULIA, we transitioned from an approximate, linear analysis approach to a more accurate, non-linear analysis, which gives us a deeper understanding of how the structure really performs in a given situation."

“Making the A350 XWB possible presented tremendous technical, technological and organizational challenges due to the complexity of the program and the number of outsourced stakeholders. But with Dassault Systèmes’ solutions, we introduced harmony in our processes, methods and tools, and saved precious time that we spent, instead, on innovation.

Keeping the Airbus A350 XWB program on target

As part of its “Future by Airbus” program, Airbus has sought to create a “whole new flying experience” with the A350 XWB.  Learn how Airbus integrated new technological advances while ensuring quality and consistency across all internal and external stakeholders worldwide to meet challenging production ramp-up targets.

We introduced harmony in our processes, methods and tools, saving precious time that we instead spent on innovation.

Integrated system boosts performance

What do you do when your systems don’t work together? MBDA, a world leader in complex missile systems, had to confront issues caused by having stand-alone Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP), Manufacturing Execution System (MES) and PLM. This was no longer practical to support, nor was it compliant with current operating systems. Even worse, some MBDA sites were still using paper-based tracking systems.

An integrated solution was seen as the way forward: “Once we reviewed and understood Apriso’s FlexNet, it became clear that we could realize significant performance improvements and cost savings by integrating our enterprise planning, engineering and manufacturing operations systems,” said Jérémie Ropero, Project Manager. “Apriso’s solution handles the diverse products and types of controls we required while providing a strong foundation for tracking and tracing production and process changes.”

MBDA now has “superior reactivity between process design and the shop floor, making us more nimble,” according to Ropero. “This allows us to be more responsive to technical innovations, essential in such a fast-changing industry as ours.”

The company’s production and quality operations are fully traceable, while operators are more versatile. The routing definition procedure has been harmonized across departments (routing maintenance time has been reduced by 50%) and new information systems are linked with existing apps.

All activity is now tracked and recorded, for full traceability of engineering, production and quality operations processes. Having such a detailed record of all execution data is extremely important for compliance and quality enhancement. We can easily compare as-built to as-designed parts and processes for continuous improvement. 

Jeremie Ropero
Project Manager, MBDA

Searching for efficient analytics

If you want to accelerate your product to market, then you’ve got to speed up processes and reduce duplication. That’s what US-based Bird Technologies had in mind when it adopted Dassault Systèmes’ EXALEAD OnePart application to turbocharge their engineers’ search for similar parts and to reduce the number of duplicate parts in the database. 

“Customers value the reliability of our products but also want good quality for less money,” explained John Winter, Mechanical Engineering Manager at Bird. “Our large product portfolio has resulted in a lot of 3D models that, if they could be reused in new designs, would considerably cut costs and market delivery time. Yet, the file locator tool we were using in the past was a non-indexed search tool that was slow and inefficient. Rather than wasting time waiting for the tool to crawl through all our data, our designers preferred redesigning components from scratch.”

Opting to redesign components also left Bird with a large database of duplicate parts on its server. “We had over 3,000 duplicate parts and needed a way to reduce this number,” Winter said. “Reusing existing designs was the answer.”

EXALEAD’s OnePart searches through the design database based on file attributes, metadata and geometric similarities, so Bird’s engineers can quickly find similar parts.

“We’ve realized a 75% reduction in duplicate parts and expect this to improve as more of our engineers get acquainted with this application,” enthused Winter. “Before, our engineers and especially new hires would ask one of their more experienced colleagues where they could find a certain part. Now my designers don’t need to depend on anyone; they use OnePart to search for the part themselves.”

Bird’s engineers also use OnePart for 3D CAD documents and for all other design documents, such as data sheets, test data, manufacturing instructions, test procedures and drawings. In fact, all their search processes have been completely transformed for the better. “Information search has been reduced from an average of four minutes per search to just a few seconds,” Winter added.

Break down information silos

While enterprise management and support systems for design, manufacturing and testing are becoming more advanced every day, how can companies gain visibility on the key data to make timely decisions?  Learn how to gain quick and efficient access to data from multiple systems through detailed, up-to-date and customized dashboards.

Understanding the value of digital transformation

Successful digital transformation goes hand in hand with a transformation of the way your organization works. Businesses should be prepared to break down traditional silos to embrace new ways of working seamlessly across functions, departments, languages and geographies. ‘Rework’ should become a thing of the past.

The PwC article, ‘2017 Commercial Aviation Trends’ by Jonathan Kletzel and Bryan Terry, points out that “a sense of urgency is required” for companies to move to a digital organization to cope with significant increases in passenger traffic. Nonethless, the authors accept that “moving beyond buzzwords like AI and IoT to actual applications can be difficult.” Rather than getting bogged down in the “shiny object” aspect of technology trends, Kletzel and Terry urge the industry to “think more practically: specifically, think in business terms about what digital technologies enable; what opportunities they offer to grow the top line and reduce operating costs simultaneously.”  

For example, airlines need to use digitalization to “enhance and optimize operations – to reduce costs while improving service. They need to put technology to work in predicting and preventing equipment failures, in optimizing processes and productivity on the ground, and in providing better and timelier information to employees.”

The authors argue that those at the top of the management tree need to view digitalization in the right light. Instead of using it as a “panacea” or virtual band-aid, digitalization should serve as “a tool for tactical innovation”.

“Your business strategy – the company’s short- and long-term goals – will point the way to the customers you want to win, the offerings you hope to provide that attract these customers, and the right channels for reaching them. When those objectives are known, you can identify the technologies that best support them.”

Meeting – and exceeding – expectations

By embracing the digital transformation of your product lifecycle - concept, development through manufacturing, Aerospace & Defense manufacturers and suppliers can confidently build increasingly complex aircraft to meet passenger demand, operator cost and uptime targets. 

Now it’s possible to work concurrently in the context of a full system digital mock-up which provides a single version of the truth. With this collaboration – everyone working together from different locations in real-time – you can deliver dramatic new efficiencies in design, validation, manufacturing, testing, certification and the ongoing support of new aircraft. And, program managers can continuously monitor schedules, budgets, resource allocation and deliverables across the supply chain.

This is the course to true operational excellence – accelerating complex program development, increasing productivity, optimizing component and system design via process automation, and maintaining total control of programs. You can ensure you meet contract deadlines, lower costs even further and, most important of all, that your customers always receive the quality they expect.

Drive down costs while improving quality

Aerospace companies can now improve design efficiency, increase product quality and drive down costs while significantly reducing time to market. Learn how COMAC, BRM Aero, and Bell Helicopter are achieving operational excellence while delighting their customers.

Explore our Industry Solution Experiences

Learn more about how our Industry Solution Experiences can help you drive down cost.