8 min read

使平凡变得卓越

通过虚拟设计和施工尽量扩大建筑工程行业项目成果

过去,现在和未来

古代建筑大师给我们留下了许多杰出的建筑作品。金字塔、斗兽场(罗马圆形大剧场)、泰姬陵和其它古代地标式建筑让我们回忆起过去文明的伟大创造力。我们不禁思考:这些巨大的项目是如何建成的?由谁建造?他们用了怎样的技术和工艺?大部分问题的答案仍然是个谜。

今日建筑工程行业的开路先锋同样在创造着未来的地标。令人印象深刻的建筑分布全球各地,这些项目以闪电般的速度建成,并采用各类新颖的材料。但与古老秘密不同的是,我们确切地知道这些项目如何建造各种令人叹为观止的建筑。他们的流程将很快成为行业未来的标准程序。

新交付方法的发明

Frank Gehry 和其他前卫建筑师挑战极限,设计了非常规结构,这种非常规结构需要新的系统和流程来与制造商、建筑商和业主进行沟通和协调。这种独特的结构是不可能用传统的建筑工程行业方法建造的。他们借鉴、改造了制造业的技术和工艺,为当今的建筑工程行业中普遍存在的浪费和低效问题提供了解决方案。

通过集成 3D 模型,所有参建方清楚地了解外墙、暖通、电气和给排水(水暖电)系统和整体结构的设计和工程如何衔接。通过制定精确有效的交付制度,在线协作环境使项目参建方能够降低项目风险、提高生产率并保持设计质量。即使是独特的建筑材料,也可以通过优化和标准化来降低成本。预制和场外施工方法使现场安装过程更容易、安全、快速。

用于制造和组装的设计

buildingSMART International 营运总监 Richard Kelly 分享了他对建筑工程行业的制造和组装的设计(DfMA)趋势的看法。DfMA 概念在 20 世纪 70 年代被提出,是一种使产品开发更高效的结构化方法。然而,今天,DfMA 正在改变建筑物投入市场的效率,并获得了更多的认可,因为新技术改善了建筑工程行业从业者之间的沟通。

应用于建筑工程行业后,是关于如何把建筑物作为一个整体来确定最佳构建方法。其目标是高效生产优质、高性价比的设施,尽管某些工序需要大批量生产,但是仍能满足客户对多样性的需求。

DfMA 的优点是:

  • 更可预测的安装。DfMA 方法旨在减少部件,因为部件越多意味着组装出现问题的可能性更大。它还要求在早期设计阶段就不同专业之间的公差达成一致。因此,送达施工现场的部件都能够正确接入。
  • 更高质量的部件。由于大部分项目的组装都在干净的工厂环境中完成,最终产品的质量可能比现场生产的高。此外,还有机会获得质量更好的材料,这些材料用来生产个别部件可能成本较高,但施工时间和维护需求的减少降低了成本,因此,总体上节省了成本。
  • 改善工地安全。这种预制的重点意味着现场施工会减少、现场有更好的说明、工作空间更加可预测,从而改善了安全和物流。

通过协作激发创新

今天,设计和交付展览馆或体育场的系统已经可以用于日常住宅。我们现在可以通过以下方式让普通项目取得最卓越的成果:

  • 惊人的速度
  • 可持续的材料
  • 变革性的效率  

当设计和施工团队集中在单一的、基于云的集成数据模型时,他们克服了文化和地理界限,并释放出跨学科协作的力量。仿真使构建者能够在施工开始之前优化序列并标记问题。过去被认为是设计风险的内容现在得以在虚拟世界中进行设计和测试,然后在现实世界中执行。即使是最小的公司也会对项目成果产生重大影响。今天,通过 3DEXPERIENCE® 平台可使这一切成为可能。

“基于云的集成数据模型是无缝建筑工程行业供应链协作的工具。”

Thelen Design Group 首席执行官 Neil Thelen

CadMakers 如何帮助尽量扩大项目成果

3分钟 35

“在充分集成的 3D 模型中以极高的定义水平打通设计和构造,可以降低协调风险、改善沟通并使各方尽早实现同步。”

Javier Glatt
CadMakers 联合创始人兼首席执行官

建筑创新达到新高度

英属哥伦比亚大学(University of British Columbia)被称为 “Brock Commons Tallwood House” 的宿舍楼打破了高层建筑必须由钢筋混凝土建造并在现场建造的旧模式。18 层楼高的 Tallwood House 是北美首座大规模使用木制品的高层住宅。该建筑大胆创新,使用虚拟设计和施工(VDC)模拟与制造零件的现场组装,与同等规格的传统混凝土建筑相比,该方法将 Tallwood House 建筑速度提高了 70%,成本则相对降低了。

在 Brock Commons Tallwood House 项目中,CadMakers 扮演了虚拟总承包商的角色,与所有参建方密切合作。使用云端 3DEXPERIENCE 平台,CadMakers 创建了一个 Tallwood House 的 3D 结构模并进行建造仿真,支持在建筑材料、设计协作与施工流程中提供开拓性创新。

阅读案例研究全文 >>

未来的施工模型

使用预制材料、协作流程和先进的问题解决方法,Tallwood House 用 9.5 周时间完成了约每周两层楼的施工速度,这比预期计划快了约 3 个月。因为它是此类建筑的第一例,Glatt 相信随着这种行业新方式经验的发展,此后的项目会节省更多的时间和花费。

其影响深远:更少污染、更快完成和更好的环境可持续性。

阅读案例研究全文 >>

查看信息图表
虚拟设计和施工 > 尽量扩大项目成果 > Dassault Systèmes®
查看信息图表
虚拟设计和施工 > 尽量扩大项目成果 > Dassault Systèmes®
使普通施工项目变得卓越的蓝图

没有极限

如今,平凡可以变得卓越。曾经服务于少数人的,现在可以为大多数人服务了。如何做得到?通过拒绝墨守陈规。通过颠覆旧的默认行业模式,并敢于创造新的模式。通过采用数字化,利用统一平台。通过以更高的精度、更强的监控和更快的速度开展工作。通过提高我们预测建筑项目成果的能力,使流程可适应任何未预料到的项目情况,并尽量扩大项目成果。探索 3D 模型、设计自动化和制造方法的强大结合。

有了这些技术,我们现在可以提高质量、扩大范围、减少时间和成本。我们可以看到添加单个砖块将如何影响作业的每个方面。我们可以毫无风险地承担设计风险,因为我们可以在虚拟世界中进行测试。我们甚至可以在施工开始前探索使用新材料并标记问题。我们可以不受文化和地理限制的影响协作。

“我们可以”是我们这个行业的新口号,因为我们拒绝生活在“我们不能”的旧世界里。

8 min read

Make the ordinary extraordinary

Maximize AEC project outcomes through virtual design and construction

Past, Present and Future

The master builders of antiquity have given us many remarkable works of architecture. The Pyramids, the Colosseum, the Taj Mahal and other ancient landmarks remind us of the great ingenuity of past civilizations. We are left to wonder: How were these immense projects constructed? Who built them? What were their techniques and technologies? For the most part, answers to these questions remain a mystery.

Today’s Architecture, Engineering & Construction (AEC) trailblazers are likewise creating the landmarks of the future. Impressive structures, erected at lightning speed and using completely novel materials, are in the works all around the globe. But unlike the secrets of the past, we know exactly how these projects are able to produce such incredible outcomes. Their processes will soon become the standard procedures for the industry’s future.

The Invention of New Delivery Methods

Frank Gehry and other avant-garde architects have pushed the envelope, designing unconventional structures that required new systems and processes for communicating and coordinating with fabricators, builders and owners. Such unique structures couldn’t have been built using traditional AEC means. Their techniques and technologies, adapted from manufacturing industries, offer a solution to the rampant waste and inefficiencies found in the AEC industry today.

Through an integrated 3D model, all stakeholders clearly understand the alignment between design and engineering for the façade, Mechanical, electrical and plumbing (MEP) systems and overall structure. An online collaborative environment enables project stakeholders to reduce project risks, increase productivity and maintain design quality, through manufacturing precision and efficient delivery mechanism. Even unique building materials can be optimized and standardized to reduce costs. Prefabrication and offsite construction methods make onsite installation processes easier, safer and faster. 

Design for Manufacture & Assembly

Richard Kelly, Operations Director for buildingSMART International, shared his take on the Design for Manufacture & Assembly (DfMA) trend in AEC. The concept of DfMA was developed in the 1970s as a structured way of making product development more efficient. Today, however, DfMA is transforming the efficiency with which buildings are brought to market and is gaining greater acceptance as new technology allows for improved communication among AEC practitioners.

When applying this concept to the AEC industry, DfMA is about taking a holistic view of a building to determine the best way of making it. Its goal is the efficient production of a high-quality, cost-effective facility that, despite the mass production of certain processes, still provides the variety the client desires.

The benefits of DfMA are:

  • More predictable installation. A DfMA approach looks to eliminate components, because more parts means greater potential for assembly problems. It also requires tolerances among various trades to be agreed upon in the early design stage. Therefore, when components arrive at the job site, they all interface correctly.
  • Higher quality components. Because much of the project assembly is done in a clean factory environment, the end product can be of higher quality than what is produced onsite. Also, there is opportunity for better quality materials which, as a piece part might be more expensive, but costs are saved overall through less construction time and reduced lifetime maintenance.
  • Improved worksite safety. This prefabrication focus means that fewer trades are required onsite, the site aspects are better illustrated and the workspace is more predictable, which leads to improvements in both safety and logistics.

Unleash Innovation through Collaboration

Today, the systems that enable the design and delivery of showpiece museums or stadiums are available to everyday dwellings. We can now make ordinary projects achieve the most extraordinary outcomes with:

  • astonishing speed
  • sustainable materials
  • revolutionary efficiency  

When design and construction teams centralize on a single, cloud-based, integrated data model, they overcome cultural and geographical boundaries, and unleash the power of cross-disciplinary collaboration. Simulations enables builders to optimize sequences and flag issues before construction even begins. What used to be considered design risks are now engineered and tested in a virtual world, before they are implemented in the real world. Even the smallest firm can make a big impact on project outcomes. All this is possible today with the 3DEXPERIENCE® platform.

"An integrated, cloud-based data model is a tool for seamless AEC supply chain collaboration."

How CadMakers Helps Maximize Project Outcomes

3 minutes 36

“Connecting design and construction in a fully integrated 3D model at an extreme level of definition reduces coordination risks, improves communication and puts everyone on the same page early on.”

Javier Glatt
Co-founder and CEO, CadMakers

Building Innovation Reaches New Heights

The University of British Columbia’s residence hall known as Brock Commons Tallwood House demolishes the old paradigm that high-rise buildings must be made of steel and concrete, and constructed onsite. At 18 stories high, Tallwood House features the first North American use of mass-timber products in a residential high-rise. The building’s pioneering use of Virtual Design and Construction (VDC) modeling and onsite assembly of manufactured parts helped complete Tallwood House approximately 70% faster and at less cost than traditional concrete buildings of the same size.

On the Brock Commons Tallwood House project, CadMakers served as a virtual general contractor, working closely with all stakeholders. Using the 3DEXPERIENCE platform on the cloud, CadMakers created a 3D structural model and manufacturing simulations for Tallwood House that supported pioneering innovations in building materials, design collaboration and construction processes.

READ THE FULL CASE STUDY >>

View Infographic
Virtual design and construction > Streamline construction projects > Dassault Systèmes®
View Infographic
Virtual design and construction > Streamline construction projects > Dassault Systèmes®
5 lessons for Streamlining Construction Projects

A Construction Model for the Future

Through the use of prefabricated materials, collaborative processes and advance problem-solving, Tallwood House met an ambitious 9.5-week construction schedule of approximately two floors per week, and roughly three months ahead of schedule. Because it was the first building of its kind, Glatt believes the time and cost savings will magnify in subsequent projects as the industry gains experience with this new way of doing things.

The implications are far-reaching: less waste, faster completion and greater environmental sustainability.

READ THE FULL CASE STUDY >>

View Infographic
Virtual design and construction > Maximizing project outcomes > Dassault Systèmes®
View Infographic
Virtual design and construction > Maximizing project outcomes > Dassault Systèmes®
A Blueprint for Making Ordinary Construction Project Extraordinary

The Sky Is the Limit

The ordinary can now be extraordinary. What was once for the few can now be for the many. But how? By refusing to accept the industry’s past as its present. By turning an old accepted industry formula on its head and daring to create a new one. By adopting digitization and leveraging a unified platform. By working with even greater precision, control and speed. By enhancing our ability to anticipate construction project results, to adapt processes to any unanticipated project event and to maximize project outcomes. By embracing the powerful combination of 3D modelling, design automation and manufacturing methods.

With these techniques we can now improve quality, expand scope, and decrease time and cost. We can see how the addition of a single brick will affect every aspect of the job. We can take design risks without the risk, because we can test in the virtual world. We can explore the use of new materials and flag issues before construction has even begun. We can collaborate despite cultural and geographical barriers.

‘We can’ is our industry’s new mantra because we refuse to live in the old world of ‘we can’t.’