1. 您为提升您的思维做好准备了吗?
8 min read

您为提升您的思维做好准备了吗?

未来的利润将来自可升级的电动自动驾驶车辆。

汽车产业、汽车与交通运输行业已进入被颠覆的阶段。随着我们朝着电动、互联、自动化交通的最终目标迈进,车辆正变得更加可靠,就像软件一样,更容易升级。

即将发生的变化必定不会少于一场变革。未来的车辆再也不会从离开经销商的那一刻起开始渐渐过时,它反而会随着车龄的增加而不断的改进。

更重要的是,由于电动汽车比其内燃机汽车更容易制造,这为拥有最新的世界级设计、工程、仿真和制造工具的新创新者们敞开了大门。

传统的汽车企业不仅要为保持竞争力而奋斗,这场战斗着实是为了生存。在特斯拉、AKKA technologies 到 Kreisel Electric 等聪敏的年轻创新者等加入了这场游戏之后,这场游戏规则正在以惊人的速度发生变化。

行业中的传统大型企业甚至不再具有批量生产的优势——因为批量销售将不再具备战略优势。由此可见,如果不重新检讨并改变他们的业务战略、系统和流程,成功几乎是不可能的。

无论是大公司还是小公司,能够在未来十年乃至更长时间内蓬勃发展的公司的成功关键因素将是敏捷性、灵活性和主动性。下一代车辆的开发需要利用先进的创意设计、共享情报、广泛的系统工程方法和多领域集成协作。

及时了解全球领军企业对汽车行业未来的见解

3分钟 49

以电动车辆为例,最小的东西也能产生最大的影响。例如,如果您想要 5G 网络连接,汽车上的哪个位置是安装天线的最佳位置?答案不仅是“哪里是最好的信号位置”,它还包括如何影响车辆的其它部分:空气动力学、美学、生产成本、维修和升级。此外,还包括天线会如何受到天气条件、振动等诸多因素的影响。

天线工程师需要比较具有类似功能的天线,以找到最佳的变体,并需要决定放置在哪里。为了实现这一目标,虚拟原型设计和虚拟测试是成功的关键。仿真软件可帮助每个相关人员找到最佳解决方案。

Matthias Tröscher
达索系统 SIMULIA 高级业务发展主管

毋庸置疑,“最佳解决方案”不仅仅是天线工程师的最佳解决方案,它也是与整辆车相关的最佳解决方案。在今天这个行业中,没有任何人或物能够有效地孤立行动。您、您的供应商和您的客户再也无法在孤岛中工作——尤其是在电动和/或自动驾驶车辆的领域中。您需要把组织生态系统和车辆当做一个整体考虑。

与 SIMULIA 业务开发部门的 Matthias Tröscher 进行对话,谈论最佳 5G 车辆连接的天线定位:

4分钟 8

重塑我们所知道的和所做的

更重要的是,正如 David Holman 指出,车辆电气化需要

“完全重新设计车辆。必须重新考虑所有零部件。你需要考虑车辆动力学的影响:在效率、冷却电池组和传动系统方面。你不能像在传统车辆中那样思考孤立的零部件。管理温度等问题变得至关重要。你知道电池的有效运行范围非常狭窄,因此热管理成为一个关键主题。”

David Holman
达索系统 SIMULIA 研发部门副总裁

Holman 认为,所有这些都构成了一个全新的问题:重塑。传统 OEM 厂商面临的挑战是重塑自身。当然,从一页白纸开始的初创企业会发现:从零起点开始解决电动传动系统的设计确实比背着包裹来得更容易,没有遗留问题,他们因此而处于有利地位。但是,对于传统的 OEM 厂商来说,推动这种重大转变是一项“具有挑战性的任务”。

此外,当今动力系统开发面临的挑战意味着需要在以前无法想象的周转时间内开发新的解决方案——优化动力系统的性能、体积、重量、质量和减排,以周为单位,而不是以月为单位。简而言之,内燃机经过了百年的发展和改进,而现在电动汽车需要在十 年内完成这个进程。

与 SIMULIA 研发副总裁 David Holman 进行对话,谈论开发电动汽车的整体方法:

4分钟 3

采用整体方法

虽然自动驾驶车辆的发展带来了不同的挑战,但如果要实现快速解决设计挑战的方案,它们需要采用类似的整体方法。例如,您如何测量和解决各种道路和天气条件下不同类型的粒子对 ADAS 传感器的影响,从而实现自治?答案是仿真。

达索系统的流体动力学总监 Brad Duncan 说道:“汽车公司不仅需要粒子和胶片的预测仿真能力,还需要有了解如何改进设计的能力。”

他继续说:“这就是仿真至关重要的原因。我们使创新的设计能更快地被发现成为可能,因为你可以从粒子的源头,通过空气,追踪到表面,有时也会追踪到表面以外的地方。”

“你可以模拟车辆行驶的环境......前轮喷雾;下雨;来自交通车辆的粒子,这些可以在个别车辆空气动力学的背景下同时观察。你可以预测所有这些不同的性能因素,以帮助在测试过程的早期快速评估设计。它能让你找到创新的解决方案,实现目标之间的最佳平衡。

Bradley Duncan
达索系统流体动力学总监

“时间就是金钱,”他总结道。“因此,如果你可以加快设计过程,并验证设计变化是否能够满足所有性能目标,那么你可以更快地进入市场,并降低车辆开发的总体成本。”

Kreisel Electric,电力解决方案领域的技术领导者
这是一家采用新平台和技术以保持敏捷的公司的完美例证。

Kreisel Electric 面临的挑战:传奇性的 1971 年 EVEX 保时捷 910 燃烧动力汽车能否转变为电动超级跑车?Kreisel Electric 需要设计和制造适合汽车可用空间的电池组、冷却系统、变速箱和动力传动系统。

为实现这一目标,该公司需要一个强大且灵活的解决方案,让参与的各学科能够进行协作,同时确保成本和进度不会超标。

如果没有采用 3DEXPERIENCE 平台的各种应用程序,要在按时按质的前提下,将变速箱和电池组置于汽车非常有限的空间中是办不到的。

Helmut Kastler
Kreisel Electric 机械和电气工程设计主管

在该平台上,项目参与方可以实时协作,集中安全获取几何数据、企业专项技术和项目信息,在降低成本和整体开发时间的同时,促进创造力和创新。

“无论我是在办公室还是在客户现场,我都可以登录 3DEXPERIENCE 平台 并访问我需要的所有信息,因为一切都结构清晰并存储在同一个地方。”

René Dumfart
Kreisel Electric 机械设计师

特斯拉 PLM 支持专家 Jack Brown 表示,专业数字技术已经消除了协作的障碍,整个特斯拉的团队都意识到早期参与项目的好处。

现在,特斯拉可以在开发流程的早期识别出需要改变的问题,以避免额外的成本或延迟进度。“制造过程的反馈至关重要,因为我们正在制造量产车,” Brown 解释道。“尽早让所有部门参与并获得他们对初始版本的反馈要比最终得到反馈好得多,因为处理这些变更会变得更加昂贵。”

显然,成功与失败之间的界线如同这个行业的利润,一样的薄。您的战略能力是及时整合客户见解、优化开发和自动化实施,这将最终决定您企业的盈利能力。如何有效地利用3D/虚拟资源来加速这些新的创新、在正确的时间向正确的客户提供这些创新,是在这个新的电动、互联的自治世界中生存的关键。

1. Are you ready to upgrade your thinking?
8 min read

Are you ready to upgrade your thinking?

Future profit will come from upgradeable, electric autonomous vehicles.

The automotive, transportation and mobility industry is being turned on its head. As we move towards the ultimate goal of electric, connected, autonomous mobility, vehicles are becoming more reliable and, like software, easier to upgrade.

The changes on the horizon are nothing short of revolutionary. Instead of heading towards obsolescence from the moment they leave the dealership, the vehicles of the future will improve with age.

What’s more, because electric cars are easier to make than their combustion engine predecessors, the door has been opened to new innovators with access to the latest world-class design, engineering, simulation and manufacturing tools.

Traditional automotive enterprises are not just fighting to remain competitive – the fight is for their very survival. Nimble younger innovators from TESLA and AKKA technologies to Kreisel Electric, to name just three, have joined the game and the rules are changing astonishingly fast.

The traditional big players in the industry no longer even have the advantage of volume production – because selling by volume will no longer be a strategic advantage. It follows that without re-examining and then transforming their business strategies, systems and processes, success looks all but impossible.

Whether big or small, agility, flexibility and proactivity will be critical success factors for the companies that thrive over the next decade and beyond. The development of the next generation of vehicles will require advanced creative design, shared intelligence, a broad systems engineering approach and multi-domain, integrated collaboration.

Get timely insights from global leaders on the future of the automotive industry

3 minutes 51

Take electric vehicles, the smallest thing can have the biggest impact. For example, where’s the best place to put the antenna on a car if you want 5G connectivity? The answer is not just “where you’ll get the best signal”, but also how it might affect the rest of the vehicle: the aerodynamics, aesthetics, production cost, servicing and upgrading. Also, how the antenna itself will be affected by weather conditions, vibration and a host of other factors.

Antenna engineers need to compare antennas with similar functionality to find the optimal variant and need to decide where to place them. In order to achieve this, virtual prototyping and virtual tests are key to success. Simulation software helps to find the optimal solution for everyone concerned.

Matthias Tröscher
Senior Business Development Executive, Dassault Systèmes, SIMULIA

Needless to say, the ‘optimal solution’ is not the best solution for the antenna engineers alone, but the solution that works best in relation to the whole vehicle. In this industry today, nothing and nobody can act effectively in isolation. You, your suppliers and your customers can no longer work in silos – particularly in the creation of electric and/or autonomous vehicles. You need to consider both the organizational ecosystem and the vehicle as a whole.

Conversation with Matthias Tröscher, SIMULIA Business Development, on antenna positioning for optimal 5G vehicle connectivity:

4 minutes 9

Reinventing what we know – and do

What’s more, vehicle electrification, as David Holman points out, requires

“a complete redesign of the vehicle. All the components must be rethought. You need to think about the impact of vehicle dynamics: in efficiency, in cooling the battery package and in the drivetrain. You cannot think about isolated components the way you think in traditional vehicles. And things like managing temperature become critical. You know batteries are only efficient within a very narrow operative range, so thermal management becomes a key topic.”

David Holman
Vice President, Dassault Systèmes SIMULIA R&D

All this, Holman argues, poses a totally new problem: reinvention. The challenge the traditional OEMs face is to reinvent themselves. Of course, new start-ups beginning from a blank page will find it easier to tackle the design of electric drivetrains from scratch without the legacy hangover, thus putting them in a position of advantage. But, for a traditional OEM, driving such a major transformation is a “challenging task”.

Also, the challenges of today’s drivetrain development mean that new solutions need to be developed within previously unthinkable turnaround times – optimizing the drivetrain performance, mass, weight, quality, and reduce emissions, in weeks rather than months. In short, what took 100 years of development and refinement for the combustion engine, now needs to be done in 10 years for electric vehicles.

Conversation with David Holman, VP SIMULIA R&D, on the holistic approach to develop electric vehicles:

4 minutes 4

Taking the holistic approach

Although autonomous vehicle development poses different challenges, they demand a similarly holistic approach if speedy resolutions to design challenges are to be achieved. For example, how do you measure – and resolve – the effect of different types of particles in different road and weather conditions on the ADAS sensors that make autonomy possible? The answer is simulation.

Brad Duncan, Fluid Dynamics Director at Dassault Systèmes says that: “Car companies not only need predictive simulation capability for particles and film, but also the ability to understand how to improve the design.”

He continues: “That's where simulation is so essential. We make it possible for innovative designs to be discovered much more quickly, because you can track from the source of the particle, through the air, onto the surface, and sometimes off the surface again, and back onto it somewhere else.”

“You can simulate the environment in which the vehicle is driving… front wheel spray; the rain; the particles coming from vehicles in traffic, and that can be viewed simultaneously within the context of individual vehicle aerodynamics. You can predict all of these different performance factors to help quickly evaluate designs early in the testing process. It allows you to find innovative solutions that will achieve the best balance between targets.

Bradley Duncan
Fluid Dynamics Director, Dassault Systèmes

 

“Time is money,” he concludes. “So, if you can accelerate the design process, and verify that the design changes will meet all your performance targets, you can be faster to market, and reduce the overall cost of vehicle development.”

Kreisel Electric, a technology leader in the field of electric power solutions
Is a perfect illustration of a company adopting new platforms and technologies to stay agile.

Kreisel Electric faced a challenge: Could the legendary 1971 EVEX Porsche 910 combustion-powered car be transformed into an electrified supercar? Kreisel Electric needed to design and build a battery pack, cooling system, gearbox and powertrain that would fit in the car’s available space.

To achieve this, the company needed a solution that was robust yet flexible enough to enable the different disciplines involved to collaborate while keeping costs and schedules in check.

Positioning the gearbox and battery pack in the car’s very limited space could not have been done in time and with this quality without the applications of the 3DEXPERIENCE platform.

Helmut Kastler
Head of Mechanical & Electrical Engineering, Kreisel Electric

The platform allowed project stakeholders to enjoy real-time collaboration, centralized and secure access to geometric data, company know-how and project information thereby promoting creativity and innovation while reducing costs and overall development time.

“Whether I’m in the office or at a customer site, I can log onto the 3DEXPERIENCE platform and access all the information I need since everything is clearly structured and stored in one single place.”

René Dumfart
Mechanical Designer, Kreisel Electric

Jack Brown, PLM Support Specialist at Tesla, says that specialist digital technologies have eliminated barriers to collaboration, and teams throughout Tesla are realizing the benefit of getting involved in projects earlier.

Now Tesla can recognize an issue requiring change earlier in the development process to avoid extra cost or delay in development. “Manufacturing feedback is critical because we are creating a production car,” Brown explains. “To get all departments involved early and get their feedback on the initial releases is a lot better than getting that feedback at the end, when it becomes much more expensive to incorporate those changes.”

Clearly, the line between success and failure is as fine as the industry’s profit margins. It will be your strategic capabilities to integrate timely customer insights, optimize development and automate fulfillment that will ultimately determine your profitability as a business. How effectively you utilize 3D/virtual resources to accelerate those new innovations, to the right customers at the right time, is the key to survival in this new electric connected autonomous world.